The Timothy Dow Adams Award

Presented by the editors of a/b: Auto/Biography Studies.

Timothy Dow Adams

This award is made in honor of Timothy Dow Adams, one of the founding editors of a/b: Auto/Biography Studies and a longtime friend and supporter of the journal. His outstanding scholarship—including the two books, Telling Lies in Modern American Autobiography and Life Writing, Light Writing: Photography in Autobiography—have had a lasting impact on the field. As the life narrative community mourned his untimely loss, we gathered together to create an annual award presented in his honor. This prize is intended to support emerging and underrepresented scholars’ attendance at an International Auto/Biography Association Conference.

pp-donate1To contribute to the Timothy Dow Adams Award, please login to your PayPal account and donate to If you do not have a PayPal account, you may still donate through PayPal with a credit card. The Autobiography Society is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization and all donations are tax deductible. Thank you!

The Hogan Prize

Nominated by our guest editors and selected by a guest judge.

Named for Rebecca and Joseph Hogan, the two longstanding editors of a/b: Auto/Biography Studies, this award is presented annually to a scholar in recognition of an outstanding essay submitted to a special issue of the journal. The prize includes publication in the special issue and an award of $750. This award is generously supported by Routledge Journals.

In 2015, The Hogan Prize was awarded to a submission to the special issue, “Broken Dialogues,” edited by Eva C. Karpinski, York University. The guest judge was Leigh Gilmore, Wellesley College.

Hogan Joe

Joseph Hogan

Hogan Becky

Rebecca Hogan